Classic Margarita

Classic Margarita 2Happy Cinco de Mayo! As a born and raised Texan I always celebrate the holiday. My favorite way to celebrate? Margaritas! Everyone should know how to make the classic 3-2-1 margarita, and that’s precisely what I’m going to share with you today.

If you don’t know about me, I’m a Texan who now lives in the Midwest. Needless to say, the Mexican food and drinks served at restaurants here are not to my standards. But no, I don’t get down about it. I simply make all my favorite Mexican dishes at home!

Recently one of my Midwestern friends invited me to go out for margaritas. I said, “Honey, you come over. I’m gonna make you the real thing!” Oh my gosh, it was so fun to see her taste a real margarita made with freshly squeezed lime juice for the first time. She loved it. And, if you’ve never tried an authentic margarita, I hope you take the time to make this classic one today.

If it’s your first time making homemade 3-2-1 margaritas, know that they are strong and contain a lot of alcohol. If the taste of alcohol is too strong for you, add additional lime juice. Also, keep in mind as the ice melts (and you start getting buzzed), you won’t taste the alcohol so much!

I hope you have a wonderful Cinco de Mayo! To keep the party going, check out my baked chicken taquitos (what I’ll be eating tonight) and guacamole.

I’m bringing this to Fiesta Friday #118 hosted by Angie and co-hosted by Kaila at GF Life 24/7 and Laurena at Life Diet Health.

Classic MargaritaIngredients

  • 3 parts tequila
  • 2 parts triple sec
  • 1 part lime juice, freshly squeezed
  • lime wedge
  • salt (optional)

Directions

  1. Salt the rim of a lowball glass (optional). Shake tequila, triple sec, and lime juice in martini shaker. Pour into lowball glass over ice. Serve with lime wedge.

Classic Margarita - Unwed Housewife

15 thoughts on “Classic Margarita

  1. Beautiful drink! I think I might be buzzed at one! In the midwest I often hear people say that you have to go here or go there for the BEST margarita, and yet once I do, I often find they just use mix. People just don’t know what they’re missing, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

