Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal CookiesWhat is more comforting and perfect than a batch of warm chocolate chip oatmeal cookies fresh out of the oven?! These chewy, gooey cookies are packed with rolled oats and semi-sweet chocolate chips. These are the perfect cookies to whip up when you’re in need of a little comfort and self-care.

I’ve been sick the past few days and haven’t been able to blog. Oh my gosh, I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed you! I hated not being able to share recipes with you and keep up with things, so I’m really glad to be feeling better and able to post this.

Since I’ve been sick, I haven’t been by the store. Luckily, I had some rolled oats left over from making blueberry vanilla granola last week. I knew instantly what to make: chocolate chip oatmeal cookies!

Chocolate chip oatmeal is one of my favorite cookies. They are the perfect combination of classic and comfort: the chocolate chip cookie and the oatmeal raisin cookie. And this recipe, oh my gosh. These cookies are so chocolatey and gooey, I have to have a glass of cold milk with ’em. They are perfect for chocolate lovers (like me) with lots of semi-sweet chips in every bite. I know you’re going to love ’em.

Now that I’m feeling better, of course my sweetheart is now sick! Poor thing. No matter how careful we are…washing our hands and cleaning surfaces, if one of us comes down with something, we both get it. So, I’ll be munching on these cookies while I look after him.

What do you bake when you’re in need of some self-care? What’s your favorite cookie? Have you ever tried chocolate chip oatmeal cookies? I’m so glad to be back!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies - Unwed HousewifeIngredients

  • 1/2 cup and 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325Β°F. Spray baking sheets with cooking spray. Yields 2 dozen cookies.
  2. In medium bowl combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.
  3. In standing mixer or with handheld mixer cream together butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla extract until smooth. Gradually stir in flour mixture. Combine well. With spatula fold in oats and chocolate chips.
  4. Place by spoonfuls onto baking sheets. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to baking racks.

(Recipe adapted from All Recipes).

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies --- Unwed Housewife

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. These cookies look amazing! I love that you combined chocolate chip cookies and oatmeals cookies (minus the raisins, b/c chocolate chips all the way!). I actually haven’t made cookies in several months, but chocolate chip cookies are definitely my comfort baked good of choice πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

