Blueberry Vanilla Granola

Blueberry Vanilla GranolaHealthy , crunchy, and sweet granola with dried blueberries, sliced almonds, vanilla extract, and a hint of cinnamon. So delicious and dessert-like, you’ll wonder “is this really healthy?.” As I said about my roasted Brussels sprouts, I believe healthy food can and should taste good. So yes, while this blueberry vanilla granola is healthy, it’s also delicious!

If you’ve never tried granola, it’s basically dry cereal. Another way to think of it is, it’s all the ingredients that go into making granola bars. In order for granola bars to hold their shape, you have to use a good amount of sugar and oil. Since granola is loose, it requires less of those things and is healthier. You can eat granola plain as a snack or over milk for breakfast.

Granola isn’t typically the type of food I drool over, but I drool over this blueberry vanilla one! The flavors are so balanced and the cinnamon and vanilla extract do a good job of making the granola sweet without being overly sugary. And, the aroma. You gotta smell this granola while it’s baking in the oven! Oh my word, it smells as good as cookies.

Blueberry Vanilla Granola -- Unwed HousewifeGranola stores well if you keep it sealed, so I like to make a big batch to keep around the house. I don’t know about you, but I’m more likely to eat unhealthy if I go too long without eating between meals. Snacking on this granola prevents me from overeating later in the day.

Alright, let’s whip up some blueberry vanilla granola! Let me know what you think of this recipe by leaving a comment.

Blueberry Vanilla Granola - Unwed HousewifeIngredients

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup & 2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup dried blueberries

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. In large bowl combine oats, almonds, and cinnamon.
  3. In small bowl stir together honey, coconut oil, and vanilla extract. Pour over oats and combine. Stir in dried blueberries.
  4. Pour onto baking sheet and bake in preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes, every 3 to 5 minutes remove pan and shake granola around.

Blueberry Vanilla Granola  Unwed Housewife

16 thoughts on “Blueberry Vanilla Granola

  1. Homemade granola is absolutely the way to go! And I’m with you – I snack and eat smarter when I have some on hand. My favorite way to eat it though is over some plain non-fat Greek yogurt in the morning. A little smooth, creamy yogurt and a little sweet crunch on top – YUM! I love this blueberry-vanilla flavor – must try soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness! Thank you so much. I’m so honored that you nominated me for this award and that like my blog. I unfortunately don’t have time to complete the questions, but I really appreciate that you thought of me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

