Bay Breeze

Bay BreezeThe weekend may be over, but why does the fun have to end?! I’ve got one fruity, refreshing cocktail recipe for you (which happens to be one of my favorites)- the delectable Bay Breeze! This cocktail lives up to its island name. You can’t sip on this drink without letting loose, putting your feet up, and taking some time to appreciate life itself. Made with pineapple juice, cranberry juice, and vodka and garnished with a lime wedge and maraschino cherry, you’re going to love this island inspired cocktail.

Guess when I started drinking these? Yep, college. I learned about this drink for the first time while thumbing through a martini book as a waitress. I started making it for myself and friends. You’d think since I love it so much I’d order it when I’m out at restaurants and bars, but I don’t. A lot of bartenders have to ask what’s in it, so I’d rather use my recipe and make it at home. Plus, it gives me an excuse to purchase fresh fruit and juice. I mean just look at this stuff!

Bay Breeze Fruit Unwed Housewife(Did you see this photo over the weekend on Twitter or Instagram? If not, make sure to follow Unwed Housewife on social media so you get sneak peeks at upcoming posts!).

Have YOU ever tasted a Bay Breeze? I feel like a lot of people haven’t, and I want to change this! It’s often upstaged by the Sea Breeze (its close cousin) which is made with vodka, pineapple juice, and grape juice. I’ve never understood this. Don’t get me wrong, both cocktails are delicious, but I think cranberry juice with its tart flavor, mixed with sweet and sugary pineapple juice, make the Bay Breeze the superior cocktail.

Are you going to try this? Let me know by leaving a comment. And, if you LOVE refreshing cocktails, make sure to check out my recipe for Kansas City Ice Water and my favorite cocktails on Pinterest.

Bay Breeze - Unwed HousewifeIngredients

  • 1 & 1/2 parts vodka
  • 2 parts pineapple juice
  • 2 parts cranberry juice
  • lime (optional)
  • maraschino cherries (optional)

Directions

  1. Shake vodka, pineapple juice, and cranberry juice in martini mixer. Pour in low-ball glass over ice. Serve with lime wedge and maraschino cherry (optional).

Bay Breeze -- Unwed Housewife

25 thoughts on “Bay Breeze

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever had a bay breeze! Looks and sounds like an amazing combo of flavors, I’m pinning! Thanks so much for linking up at You Link It, We Make It. Hope to see you back tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

