Derby Pie

Derby Pie

Happy Pi Day, everyone! My sweetheart is a math guy, so we always do a little something special for Pi Day. This year I’m celebrating by sharing a fantastic derby pie recipe with you!

So, what is derby pie? Basically, it’s a chocolate pecan pie and YES, it tastes as good as it sounds! Its dense, sugary filling is packed with pecans and chocolate chips. There’s nothing low-calorie or healthy about derby pie, but it makes for one unforgettable dessert.

Some derby pies call for bourbon, but this one is alcohol free. I’m usually a big fan of cooking and baking with alcohol (because I get to take a swig while cooking!), but I think adding bourbon to derby pie ends up taking away from its sweetness as opposed to enhancing it. Anytime I’ve tasted a derby pie with bourbon, I think “what’s in this?” as opposed to “YUM, what’s in this?.”

My boyfriend was going to submit this pie for his company’s pie baking contest, but once we realized the judges (not us) would get to eat it, we had a change of heart. We talked it over, “What if we submit a pie with a slice missing, half a pie, a sliver of pie to the judges?…” As a consequence, this pie isn’t a ribbon winner (because it was never submitted), but it’s a heck-no-I’m-not-sharing-go-get-your-own pie!

Let’s celebrate Pi Day with a derby pie recipe that’s off the charts! As always leave me a comment or send me an email with any questions or thoughts.

Derby Pie2Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 2 large eggs, whisked
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 – 6 oz. package semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 – 5 0z. (approx. 1 & 1/4 cup) pecans, halved
  • 1- 9 inch pie crust, frozen

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. In standing mixer combine sugar and corn starch. Add eggs, butter, and vanilla. On medium-high setting stir batter until smooth. With spatula fold in chocolate chips and pecans.
  3. Pour batter into pie crust and bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes. After 25 minutes check to see if pie is cooking throughout. If top of pie is dark, place strips of aluminum foil on top of pie for remainder of baking time. Bake remaining 15 minutes, or until pie congeals throughout. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Derby Pie Pinterest

Derby Pie - Unwed Housewife

16 thoughts on “Derby Pie

  1. Pecan Pie is one of my favorites so I’ll definitely have to try this one out! Who can say no to chocolate?! I don’t blame you for not entering the pie 🙂 Make 2 next time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This look so tasty! After moving out of Texas, I haven’t had a decent pecan pie so I am definitely going to try this! Thank you so much for linking up at the Thank Goodness It’s Thursday party – I’ve selected this as my feature for the week.

    I can’t wait to see what you share with us at tomorrow’s party!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

