Cut-Out Sugar Cookies with Icing

Unicorn Cookies 1I know a lot of people only bake cut-out sugar cookies at Christmas, but I think they are so much bigger than one holiday! With the endless number of cookie cutter shapes out there, there’s always an occasion for cut-out sugar cookies. You’ll love this recipe because of how easy it is to follow and how great these cookies taste. They’re soft, sweet, sugary and YOU get to choose their size, shape, and color.

442

As you can see, I went with unicorns! I adored all things horse related as a child and never really grew out of it. I mean, it’s not like I have Lisa Frank horse posters hanging in my bedroom, but I still daydream about owning horses of my own.

And for the icing color? Pink! Because, well…pink is my obsession.Pink Icing 3
While pink unicorns showcase my personality, you get to choose whatever shapes and colors showcase yours. Let me know what your favorite sugar cookie shape and color is below in the comments. And, if you’re in the mood for something healthier, check out my cut-out sugar cookies with fresh fruit in lieu of icing.

When I purchased my unicorn cookie cutter, the cashier laughed and said she always lets her manager know when someone buys one. Why? Apparently the manager was reluctant to keep them in stock, because she worried they wouldn’t sell because they’re “hipster.” (Side note, if the hipster community has claimed unicorns, they’ve simultaneously elevated most 10-year old girls to “original hipster” status). Other hipster cookie cutters include mustaches and the hashtag symbol (although the hashtag ones were sold out!).

Cut-Out Sugar Cookies with Icing

So, grab your favorite cookie cutter- hipster or otherwise- and a few sprinkles. Let’s make cut-out sugar cookies (even though it’s not Christmas). Because anytime is a good time for homemade sugar cookies.

Ingredients

Cookies

  • 3/4 cup (1 & 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 & 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Icing

  • 4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk, divided
  • food coloring (optional).
  • sprinkles (optional)

Directions

  1. In medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  2. In standing mixer or with handheld mixer, mix butter and sugar on medium-high speed until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. On medium speed, gradually stir in flour mixture. Shape dough into a large ball and wrap tightly in saran wrap. Chill in refrigerator overnight.
  3. Preheat oven to 400°. Lightly spray baking sheets with cooking spray. Yields approximately 30 cookies (yield amount varies).
  4. Sprinkle flour on surface and rolling pin. Roll out dough 1/2 inch thick. Cut dough using cookie cutter and place on baking sheets 1 inch apart. Bake 5 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Let cool completely before removing from baking sheets.
  5. In standing mixer or with handheld mixer, combine powdered sugar and vanilla on medium speed. On medium-high speed, mix in 1/8 cup milk for 1 to 2 minutes. Continue to mix in milk by teaspoons until icing reaches desired consistency. Add a few drops of food coloring and stir (optional).
  6. Frost cookies using piping bag or spoon. Immediately add sprinkles (optional).
Cut-Out Sugar Cookies with Icing 2

Be sure to check out this recipe and more at Fiesta Friday #109 co-hosted by Little Sweet Baker and thebrookcook.

21 thoughts on “Cut-Out Sugar Cookies with Icing

  1. Oh my they are so adorable! I almost feel like grabbing them from the screen! And you know what… even I love horses since I was a kid and used to dream of owning a horse some day lol! It’s so funny we have the same thoughts lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unicorn cookie cutter, hipster!?!? I’m sure any baker with an elementary school-age daughter owns one! 😉 (ME!) I do prefer the shape of your cutter to mine though. Pink is perfect. I never make cut-out sugar cookies at Christmastime. Too much work. Perfect for EVERY other occasion though. Love these!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those darn hipsters anyway. First they claimed skinny jeans, then funky hats and now unicorns. For shame! lol!

    I so seldom do roll out cookies…too much work – but your pink unicorns are inspirational! Thanks for bringing this by Throwback Thursday! We’re already looking forward to what you’ll bring next week! 🙂

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Holidays, Birthdays, Good Days, Bad Days…. There’s always a reason for sugar cookies! I love your imperfect baking sheet! I swear… Some people must clean everything before they take a picture because when I make sugar cookies I have frosting and sprinkles and cookie pieces laying around everywhere! What a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I totally agree- it’s always a great time to make sugar cookies. Oh my gosh, I was covered in icing and flour up to my elbows when I made these! I don’t know how to bake without making a mess, ha-ha. Have a great day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

