Angel Food Cupcakes

Angel Food Cupcakes1Angel food cake is my boyfriend’s all time favorite dessert. His mom made it every year for his birthday growing up- so precious! While I’ve always liked angel food cake, I’d never made it until recently. It’s more challenging to make than other cakes, and I didn’t want to put in the effort and it not turn out well. However, I’ve successfully learned how to make it and am so glad I did! It wasn’t as challenging as I thought it’d be, and now I get to share how to make it with you.

If you’ve never tasted homemade angel food cake (store bought doesn’t do it justice), it’s a very special and delicious cake. It’s fluffy, light, and spongy. It’s insanely low-calorie (these cupcakes are only 90 calories a piece) and typically served with fruit. I like to eat mine with fresh strawberries and a dollop of cool whip while my boyfriend prefers eating it plain.

So, why angel food cupcakes rather than angel food cake? Well, my boyfriend’s favorite part of angel food cake is the sugary, crusty flakes that form around the cake pan and edges of each slice. In cupcake form you get more of these heavenly crumblies- practically in every bite! Also, purchasing an angel food cake pan is a nuisance if you don’t have other uses for it. However, with angel food cupcakes you can use a regular muffin pan. (If you’re interested in making a traditional angel food cake, check out Slice of Heaven: Angel Food Cake.)

So, are you ready to make angel food cupcakes?! I’m here to help you along the way.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup & 2 tbsp. cake flour
  • 3/4 cup & 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract

Directions

  1. Lightly spray muffin pan with cooking spray. Yields 12 cupcakes.
  2. Sift together cake flour, sugar, and salt. Repeat 5 times. (Dry ingredients must be very powdery, so do not skimp on this step).
  3. Beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks.*
  4. With spatula, gently combine vanilla and almond extracts with egg whites. With spatula, gradually and gently fold in dry mixture.
  5. Scoop batter into muffin pans and place in cool oven. Set oven for 325Β° and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until tops are golden brown. Do NOT preheat the oven. Do not open oven for first 15 minutes of baking otherwise cupcakes might collapse.
  6. Let cupcakes fully cool before removing from pan. Serve with strawberries (optional).

*Dunk the attachment directly into the batter and lift. Eggs whites should stick to the attachment in the shape of a peak. To do so, beat for two minutes and then check every 20 seconds. If egg whites are lumpy, you’ve over-beaten them, but don’t feel bad. I did the same thing on my first try! If the egg whites are sticking to the attachment but runny, you need to keep beating them.

Angel Food Cupcakes

18 thoughts on “Angel Food Cupcakes

  1. I am so pleased you have posted this. I only had a recipe for the whole cake which needed the special Angel Food Cake Tin, something I cannot find ! This is so perfect, I know I will be baking these sooner than later πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad to hear it! That’s precisely why I came up with cupcakes- wanted to save people like you the burden of buying an angel food pan. If you have any questions, let me know. Whipping the egg whites to stiff peaks can be tricky.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Genius! I would have never thought of this in a zillion, trillion years!! I just always thought you needed the pan and it’s always been beat in to my head that the pan could ONLY be used for angelfood, never grease it, etc., etc. or your cake will never rise. I heard that every time my mom made angelfood and never questioned it…

    I love these! They’ll be so perfect for little shortcakes in the summer! Thanks from all of us at Throwback Thursday for linking up to us this week! We can’t wait to see what you’ll bring next week. πŸ™‚

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve heard the same things about angel food cake which deterred me from making it, but cupcakes works great and are less complicated to bake.
      I will definitely be back for this week’s Throwback Thursday, lots of great stuff there. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

